LOVE…ANOTHER 4 LETTER WORD?

I GUESS THE MOST OFT- REPEATED QUESTION(s) ASKED TO ME DURING THE LAST 5 YEARS OR SO IS , “ARE YOU IN A RELATIONSHIP?”, “WHY NOT?”, “DUDE, YOU HAVEN’T FOUND A GIRL IN ALL THESE YEARS! C’MON!”…. AND THE INTERROGATION IS NEVER-ENDING.

YOU KNOW WHAT? SOMETIMES EVEN I ASK MYSELF , “WHY HAVEN’T I FOUND THE GIRL I LOVE?” THEN AGAIN , WHAT IS LOVE? I PRETTY WELL KNOW WHAT A CRUSH IS. I HAVE LOST COUNT OF MY CRUSHES, AND WITH MY PRESENT ABODE IN MANIPAL, THE EYE CANDIES NEVER SEEM TO RUN OUT! BUT I ALSO KNOW THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN LOVE AND ‘JUST A CRUSH’. YET WHEN I LOOK AROUND ME, AT ALL THIS SEA OF HUMANITY; LEAVE ALONE THE SEA! I LOOK AT THE PEOPLE WHO ASK ME THESE QUESTIONS. ARE THEIR LIVES ANY DIFFERENT FROM MINE?

I MAY NOT KNOW EXACTLY WHAT’S ITS LIKE TO BE IN LOVE, BUT I SURE KNOW THE SPECIAL ‘POWER’ OF BEING SINGLE. NAY, I’M NOT TALKING ABOUT BEING “INDEPENDENT, ENJOYING YOUR LIFE, NO RESPONSIBILITIES” AND STUFF LIKE THAT.
I ACTUALLY FIND THESE THEORIES OF SINGLEHOOD LAUGHABLE AND THEY CAN BEST BE ATTRIBUTED TO A HIPPIE-TRAMP KIND OF CULTURE. WHAT I’M SAYING IS THAT BEING SINGLE, YOU CAN ACTUALLY MAKE OUT WHICH COUPLES ARE REALLY LOVEBIRDS AND WHICH COUPLES ARE MERE STAGE PERFORMERS.

 

HUMBLY SPEAKING, I HAVE QUITE A NETWORK OF FRIENDS AROUND INDIA. PEOPLE IN DIFFERENT PLACES, AND EACH HAVING A DIFFERENT STORY TO TELL. YET EVERYONE’S LOVE STORY HAS A COMMON STRAIN WITH EVERYONE’S ELSE’S LOVE STORIES! SENIOR SCHOOL WAS THE TIME WHEN RELATIONSHIPS REALLY BLOSSOMED. ALMOST EVERY OTHER DAY I USED TO HEAR ABOUT A NEW ONE OR SAW THE RELATIONSHIP STATUS IN FACEBOOK CHANGING FROM SINGLE TO YOU-KNOW-WHAT!

I STILL LOOK BACK AND SMILE AT THOSE MEMORIES.. THEY ARE STILL THE BEST YEARS OF MY LIFE, AND MAYBE ALWAYS WILL BE.

 

PEOPLE CAN BE JUDGEMENTAL, ESPECIALLY WHEN IT COMES TO RELATIONSHIPS. THESE NEWS SPREAD LIKE WILD FIRE, AND EVERYONE WILL HAVE SOMETHING OR THE OTHER TO SAY ABOUT THE NEW COUPLE, EVEN SOME OF THE TEACHERS! TALK ABOUT BEING IN THE LIMELIGHT! I FOR ONE ALWAYS ADMIRED THEM. THE WAY THEY SPENT THEIR TIME TOGETHER, CARING FOR EACH OTHER MADE ME HAPPY IN A SUBTLE KIND OF WAY. IT WAS THE PHASE WHEN I BELIEVED THAT LOVE WAS REALLY SWEET AND STORY-BOOK-TYPE. A BOY MET A GIRL THEY FELL IN LOVE AND LIVED HAPPILY EVER AFTER. THEY WERE LIKE MY ROLE MODELS! SEEING THEM REINFORCED THE BELIEF IN ME THAT SOMEWHERE OUT THERE, SOME ONE’S DEFINITELY THERE FOR ME  ❤

 

PINK FLOYD SAYS “WE DON’T NEED NO EDUCATION…” WELL I’M NOT SURE ABOUT THAT BUT STUDIES PRETTY SURE PLAYED THE ROLE OF AN ANTAGONIST IN ALL THESE LOVE STOIRES. AT LEAST ITS THE WAY I SEE IT. YES EXAM TIME! AND THE MAD RUSH AFTER THAT. I SURE DIDN’T HAVE ANY RSS FEEDS KIND OF THING ON WHAT WAS HAPPENING BETWEEN THEM BUT THE SITUATION WAS SELF-EXPLANATORY. AS PEOPLE PACKED THEIR BAGS TO SEARCH FOR GREENER PASTURES, THEY ‘LEFT’ THEIR RELATIONSHIPS BEHIND THEM. AS IF IT WAS A POLYTHENE BAG, JUST USE IT AND THROW IT WHEN YOU’RE DONE. AND NOT JUST ONE! EVER HEARD ABOUT THE DOMINO THEORY? WELL GOOGLE IT THEN  😛  LIKE PIECES OF DOMINOES ONE AFTER THE OTHER LOVEBIRDS SEPARATED. THE REASONS WERE PLENTY, BUT THE MOST COMMON WAS “DISTANCE ISSUES” . WTF? EVEN GLADIATORS PROMISED TO THEIR SWEETHEARTS THAT THEY WOULD RETURN HOME FROM THE BATTLEFIELD. BUT WE ALL ARE JUST MERE RATS CAUGHT UP IN A RAT RACE! AND WE CAN’T EVEN LIVE UP TO OUR OWN COMMITMENTS?

 

IF NOT ANYTHING ELSE, THESE HAPPENINGS SURE SHOOK MY BELIEFS AND MY PERCEPTION OF LOVE. MY ROLE MODELS. AND HARDLY ONE OR TWO LIVED UP TO THAT. WITH A NEW PLACE, ALMOST GOT INTO A NEW RELATIONSHIP. ALL MODERN DAY CHAMELEONS CHANGING THEIR SKINS WITH THE NEW PLACE. I NEVER BELIEVED DISTANCE CAN BE AN ISSUE IN LOVE. BUT THESE PEOPLE HAD PROVED THAT LOVE IS LIKE A TIME AND SPACE DEPENDENT VARIABLE, RATHER THAN A UNIVERSAL CONSTANT. I ASKED SOME OF THEM, WHAT NEXT ? “WELL, LETS SEE..LET THIS COLLEGE LIFE FINISH..” I WAS APPALLED! ANOTHER POLYTHENE BAG KIND OF AFFAIR?

 

I AM DISORIENTED NOW. YEAH I STILL BELIEVE THAT LOVE IS BASED ON MUTUAL UNDERSTANDING AND NOT THE NUMBER OF MILES YOU’RE AWAY FROM YOUR LOVE. BUT MY FRIENDS ARE BENT ON PROVING ME WRONG. IS LOVE SO UNSTABLE? LIKE POPCORN OR A CAN OF SODA, YOU HEAT OR SHAKE IT AND IT JUST COMES OUT? I NEVER BELIEVED THAT WAY. LIFE GOES ON. MOST OF THE PEOPLE ARE NOW CARRYING NEW POLYHTENE BAGS. WHILE THE DISCARDED ONE’S ARE SLOSHED SOMEWHERE DRINKING, SMOKING AND INFLICTING OTHER KINDS OF SELF-HARM. WELL AT LEAST THE BAR OWNERS ARE HAPPY.

 

I RECKON I WILL WITNESS ANOTHER DOMINO THEORY IN EFFECT AT THE END OF COLLEGE LIFE. AND THE SAME OLD REASON. ECONOMISTS SAY THAT THE WORLD IS BECOMING SMALLER AND SMALLER. I BET THEY HAVEN’T SEEN THESE PEOPLE. AS FOR ME, I’M STILL THE WANDERER. HELPING OUT PEOPLE IN WHATEVER WAY I CAN, LISTENING TO THEIR EULOGIES, TRYING TO CARRY A DRUNK FRIEND TO HIS ROOM, OR JUST SIMPLY WONDERING…LIKE H.G. WELLS DID– “OH WORLD WHAT HAVE YOU BECOME?”


AND IF SOMEONE ASKS ME TODAY THE OFT REPEATED QUESTION, I JUST SMILE AND SAY..”MAYBE YES, MAYBE NO..LET THE TIME COME” ..BUT I KNOW FOR SURE THAT I WILL NEVER CARRY A POLYTHENE BAG WITH ME JUST TO THROW IT AWAY. BECAUSE LOVE FOR ME, LIKE DIAMONDS, WILL BE FOREVER. AMEN  🙂

 

One thought on “LOVE…ANOTHER 4 LETTER WORD?

  1. hi manish,
    well rightly said, but wat abt love wch is calculative; as in where u just go for matchg ur status, caste n then lastly so called ‘love’.
    nyaz for me that’s not love, but ya to a certain point u should be both practical as well as emotional.
    but then u never know, after all the emotional affair, ur plans gets spoiled wn ur families dnt agree….so then its mostly love all gone…….satuts,caste,money-wise relations, even in finding ur partner, becms more (infact the most) imp. than ur SO CALLED LOVE.
    I SOMETYMS DOUBT IF DRE IS ANY PROPER AND REAL EXISTENCE OF A PURE FEELING NAMED AS LOVE……cz at the present state everyhtg that takes plc is either or expected to be alwz calculated or practical decisions……..!!!

Leave a Reply

